Leicester Tigers
Newcastle Falcons
Sale Sharks

Sale Sharks

Sale SharksSale Sharks are the premiership's only representatives from the north east, being based on the outskirts of Manchester at the newly renamed A.J. Bell Stadium[3] which they share with Salford Red Devils rugby league club.

The club was formed in from the amateur club Sale FC, still based at Heywood Road in Sale, which was formed in 1877, making Sale one of the oldest rugby clubs in England.

Through their junior team the Jets, the club has developed players including Steve Hanley, Mark Cueto, and Charlie Hodgson as well as Jason Robinson when he changed codes after leaving Wigan RLFC, and these players have helped Sale be an established fixture in the English Premiership, winning the competition in 2005/6.

Key Facts

  • One of the oldest clubs in English Rugby.
  • Premiership Champions in 2005/06 and twice European Challenge Cup Champions.

  • Sale Sharks play at the AJ Bell Stadium with a capacity of 12,000.

  • Average attendance 6,775 and total attendance 108,407 in the 2013/14 season.

  • Established in 1877 as Sale Football Club.

  • Director of Rugby is Steve Diamond.

  • Strong emphasis on youth development, with over 500 youngsters feeding the Sale Sharks Academy.

  • Notable former players include Jason Robinson, Sebastien Chabal, Bryan Redpath, and Andrew Sheridan.

  • Notable current players include Danny Cipriani, Dan Braid, Sam Tuitupou and Johnny Leota.

  • Matches
  • Table
Next Match

1No change (1)Sale Sharks XV430115
2No change (2)Leicester Tigers XV430115
3No change (3)Newcastle Falcons XV40042
© 2018 Content © Leicester Tigers, Statistical data © SFMS delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM